Promises kaput

I have this fear in my head

you are showing me a thorny path to tread

 

Mercy, thy Lord!

I’m one soft heart and they are a mind dwarf

 

But if you have made up your mind

send me to a home kind

 

Where they don’t care if I’m a boy or a girl

and would treasure me precious as a pearl

 

Where I won’t be killed in the womb

and buried without a tomb

 

Where my arrival would be a celebration

not an event of family humiliation

 

Where the mother lullaby croon

and to father I be a boon

 

Where daughter is not a baggage

but the heaven’s message

 

Where I have equal rights

and won’t be left alone in my fights

 

Where I have ink and notebook in my hands

not burdened with household errands

 

But the promises don’t just end here

from now on the life is going to shift gears

 

In the journey of a giggling girl to beaming bride

don’t let my dreams subside

 

Wearing the wedding veil as I sit in the golden palanquin

don’t let my inner worth be wasted just as a tinsel mannequin

 

Don’t let me be strangulated by a marriage settlement

money can never be a girl’s replacement

 

Don’t let my silence be a name of benevolence

when engulfed by callous violence

 

Don’t make me an epitome of pride and honour

being a daughter, mother, wife and a human are my only genre

 

Don’t let these pinky promises to break

I’m putting everything at stake

 

Don’t tell me I have asked for too much

why did I not deserve a life such?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

